top of page
  • Writer's pictureElif Derya Dilek

Sofia University

18.11.2022


Happy days everyone. Students from the professor pedagogy department from Sofia University were to come today. After breakfast with Sara, we cleaned the house a bit. They came with Bozhidar around 14:00. Bozhidar is Tsvetie's husband. He is a very good person. And he brought us Turkish tea. Even more different teas. For example, apple tea, pomegranate tea, sultan tea. He's a very thoughtful person. We offered Turkish tea to the students of Sofia University. They liked it very much.

Today, thanks to the cooperation with the "University of Sofia", it was possible to meet with the students and professors of the "Non-Formal Education" from the "Faculty of Pedagogy". As ESC volunteers, I and Sara met with them and had a more direct discussion about how volunteer work was organized and what the main activities were. We learned that students have a desire to be an active part of future projects.

I am honored to be in this project. 😇


Afterwards, Sara and I went to play ball in a park across from our house. And Sara noticed something there. She noticed something about me. And this is how she wrote it.

"Sometimes insignificant moments can completely change our way of thinking when we look at them from a different perspective. Let me tell you a short story. Today, while having dinner with my friend, we decided to go to the park near our neighborhood to play (amateur) basketball. Since neither of us knows much about the game’s rules, we played it in the moderate version, like most of us just stand in the line and try to shoot baskets. Since the point wasn’t winning, I took it sportingly, as usual, shooting with all my confidence to make baskets, and usually in such cases the probability of making it is very high. On the other hand, my friend didn't seem to have the same "luck", she was trying, but she kept failing. It happened that randomly I passed the ball to her, and without thinking it too much she shot it very quickly toward the basket. In this case, surprisingly, she was very close to the goal. I don't know why but I decided to repeat the same technique several times, and you know what happened? Out of 4 shots, 2 were baskets and two were very close to the target. In those moments I remembered that our life is like a basketball game. We all have dreams and goals for the future, but often we ourselves or our surroundings keep us from what we want to achieve. The same thing happens with my friend, she tells herself I can't do it, I'm not strong, I'm not good enough (maybe these are thoughts she has based on the opinions of others), and in this case, the end is clear, there's no way out. But if we get help from outside, a person or something that helps us focus and believe in ourselves, we can make it, not just once, but several times..So, believe in yourself, focus on what you want to achieve, and stay persistent in your dreams, because I'm sure if you do, you'll end up doing basket very soon" this is for Derya because she inspired me for this, it's a real perception.


Sara wrote this article and I was really touched. She is a really good sister.

If I said I was touched right now, it made me cryđŸ„ș It's a very different feeling for me to notice me like this.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page